2019-2020 Catalog

Political Science

Political Science is the study of government and politics. It is concerned with the control, use, and abuse of power in institutions, public policy, and social and cultural systems. The Political Science curriculum at MMC focuses on political theory; American political institutions, processes, and behaviors; and comparative politics. By promoting these areas of inquiry, our faculty make a significant contribution to the major program in Politics and Human Rights (see page 137). In addition, the minor in Political Science provides an excellent supplement to academic work in other areas, particularly for students considering careers in government/politics, criminal justice, law, public policy, civil service, teaching, or business.

Division: Humanities and Social Sciences
Division Office: The Faculty Center 301
Phone: 646-393-4111
Division Chair: Bradley Herling, Ph.D.
bherling@mmm.edu
Administrative Assistant: Alexandra Dill 
adill@mmm.edu

Program Faculty:

Jessica Blatt

Associate Professor of Political Science

B.A., University of California at Berkeley

M.A. & Ph.D., New School for Social Research

The Faculty Center 500

Phone: 646-393-4138

jblatt@mmm.edu

Rosemary Nossiff

Associate Professor of Political Science

B.A., University of New Hampshire

M.A., California State University

Ph.D., Cornell University

The Faculty Center 400

Phone: 646-393-4135

rnossiff@mmm.edu

Kenton Worcester

Professor of Political Science

B.A., University of Massachusetts at Boston

M.A., M.Phil., & Ph.D., Columbia University

The Faculty Center 100

Phone: 646-393-4137

kworcester@mmm.edu

Tibor Farkas

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

Ph.D., New School University

tfarkas@mmm.edu

Political Science Courses (PS)